Social Entrepreneurship Winners Announced in South Africa by Ray Dinning

Winners of the Regional Social Entrepreneurs of the Year for Africa were declared Wednesday at the ongoing World Economic Forum on Africa in Cape Town, South Africa.

This year’s winners include Aleke Dondo of Juhudi Kilimo, Juliana Rotich of Ushahidi, Olivia Van Rooyen of the Kuyasa Fund, and Evans Wadongo of Sustainable Development for All, who received the award from Hilde Schwab, co-founder of the Switzerland-based Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship.

Hailing the winners’s efforts to promote socioeconomic development in Africa, Schwab said the award will promote social entrepreneurship as a means to advance societies and address social problems in an innovative and effective manner.

Mirjam Schoening, head of the Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship, said social entrepreneurs are the driving force behind the innovations that improve the quality of life of individuals around the world.

The Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship was co-founded by Klaus Schwab, founder and executive chairman of the World Economic Forum, and his wife, Hilde. Since its inception in 2000, the foundation has been identifying the world’s leading social entrepreneurs in over 40 countries.

Source: Xinhua


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s