“Bono on Africa” by Ray Dinning

Very inspiring quotes by Bono from the band – U2

“Do unto others as you would have them do to you. Jesus says that [Luke 6:30]. “Righteousness is this: that one should… give away wealth out of love for Him to the near of kin and the orphans and the needy and the wayfarer and the beggars and for the emancipation of the captives.” The Koran says that [2.177]. Thus sayeth the Lord: “Bring the homeless poor into the house, when you see the naked, cover him, then your light will break out like the dawn and your recovery will speedily spring fourth, then your Lord will be your rear guard.” The Jewish Scripture says that. It’s Isaiah 58 [verses 7-8] again. It’s a very powerful incentive: “The Lord will watch your back.” Sounds like a good deal to me, especially right now.” Bono Quotes

“Eight million people die every year for the price of going out with your friends to the movies and buying an ice cream. Literally for about $30 a head per year, you could save 8 million lives. Isn’t that extraordinary? Preventable disease – not calamity, not famine, nothing like that. Preventable disease – just for the lack of medicines. That is cheap, that is a bargain.”
Bono Quotes

“Even then I prayed more outside of the church than inside. It gets back to the songs I was listening to; to me, they were prayers. How many roads must a man walk down?” That wasn’t a rhetorical question to me. It was addressed to God. It’s a question I wanted to know the answer to, and I’m wondering, who do I ask that to? I’m not gonna ask a schoolteacher. When John Lennon sings, “Oh, my love/For the first time in my life/My eyes are wide open” — these songs have an intimacy for me that’s not just between people, I realize now, not just sexual intimacy. A spiritual intimacy.”

“Every age has its massive moral blind spots. We might not see them, but our children will.”

“Every era has its defining struggle and the fate of Africa is one of ours. It’s not the only one, but in the history books it’s easily going to make the top five, what we did or what we did not do. It’s a proving ground, as I said earlier, for the idea of equality. But whether it’s this or something else, I hope you’ll pick a fight and get in it.”

“I love this work I do. It’s a privilege to serve the poor,….”

“I was jumping up and down. The president deserves a lot of credit for that. He really stuck his neck out. He was right, it’s important the people know at this time what America is for as well as what America’s against. on George Bush’s announcement of increased AIDS funding for Africa.”

Amazing quotes!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

